Introduction

PSIfusion uses an application user store to manage all users that will interact with the application. Users can be defined as:

  • PSIfusion-only users - users that are created within PSIfusion and are not linked to any external system
  • Linked users - users that exist in PSIfusion but maintain a link to an external directory that handles authentication

PSIfusion supports any directory that implements the Lightweight Directory Access Protocol version 3.0 or later. For further details regarding the use of external directories in PSIfusion please refer to the User Directories and Adding an External User Directory articles.

Once a user is created they may be assigned one or more additional roles. Roles grant additional capabilities within the application. 

Each user is also assigned an unique identifier and a document queue. The document queue manages documents that are assigned to that specific user. 

Adding or Editing a User

To add a new user click the Add button on the right side of the Teams tab. When adding a new user you will be prompted to select the User Directory from which the user should be created. After selecting the directory to use, the edit user dialog will be shown.

To edit an existing user, select the user you wish to edit from the list of teams and click the Edit button. When editing an existing user the user directory dialog will not be shown, as changing the user directory for an existing user is not supported.  

Adding a new user or editing an existing user both share the same edit dialog, and the instructions below will apply to either action.


General Tab - Authentication

Directory Name

Displays the name of the user directory to which this user belongs. This field is read only.

User Name & Password

Enter the user name for the current user. The user name must be a unique value, across all user directories defined for the organization. When creating a user that is linked to an external directory, the user name should exactly match the user name used in the external system. Do not include any domain prefixes or identifiers.

Example

If PSIfusion is linked to a Microsoft Active Directory domain named contoso.com with NETBIOS name of CONTOSO, and PSIfusion needs to create a user account for CONTOSO user John Smith, having username CONTOSO\JSmith, the user name used in PSIfusion would be JSmith.

General Tab - User Attributes

When creating a user linked to an external directory, hit the refresh button to the right of the system directory display field and the user attributes will be populated using values from the external directory.

First Name

Enter the user's first name. This field is optional.  

Last Name

Enter the user's last name. This field is optional.  

Display Name

Enter a display name for the user. This is the name that is most often used in lists and forms throughout the application, and as such it is required.  

Email Address

Enter the email address for the user. This field is optional.

If mail notifications are enabled, any user that does not have a valid email address will not receive notifications.

General Tab - Team

Displays the team that the current user is assigned to.  

To change or clear the team this user is assigned to hit the Clear button.  

If you wish to reassign this user to another team:

  • Close the edit user dialog
  • Switch to the Teams tab and locate the appropriate team and hit the edit button
  • Switch to the users tab and locate the user using the unassigned users filter, along with any column filtering necessary.
  • Check the users check box and save the changes to the team.

General Tab - License

Displays the user's currently assigned license. Users without an assigned license will not be able to login to the application, with the exception of the system administrator.

Roles Tab

The Roles tab allows you to grant additional application roles to the current user. Application roles may also be granted via a user group mapping within the user's User Directory


Document Types Tab

The document types tab will only be visible if document type permissions have been enabled for the current organization. 

The document types tab enables editing of the permission set associated with the current user.


Removing a User

To remove a user from the system, select the user you wish to delete from the list of users and click the Remove button.

Removed users are not recoverable. If you wish to restore a previously removed user you will have to add the user to the appropriate directory, add them to the appropriate team, if required; and manually restore any group memberships or permission settings.

On this page:


Related items: